By | Series: | Level:

In their simplest form, the twenty-four books of the Jewish Bible – the Tanach – present a history of the first 3500 years from creation until the building of the second Temple in Jerusalem. The books also relate the history of the Jewish nation from its earliest stage, through the giving of the Law at Mount Sinai, and until the end of the first commonwealth.

But the Tanach is much more than just history. In it one can learn about G-d’s plan for the world and of His relationship with mankind, specifically, His chosen nation – the Jews.

Here is where G-d tells us what He wants us to do!

“And now, Israel, what does the Lord your G-d want of you? Only to fear the Lord your G-d, to go in all His ways and to love Him and to serve the Lord your G-d with all your heart and with all your soul. To guard the commandments of G-d and His statutes…” (Deuteronomy 10 12-13)

Presented here is a very short overview of each of the books of Tanach, divided into three main categories: the Chumash, the Prophets and the Writings.

The Five Books of Moses (Chumash)

  • Genesis
  • Exodus
  • Leviticus
  • Numbers
  • Deuteronomy

    The Eight Books of the Prophets (Neviim)

  • Joshua
  • Judges
  • Samuel
  • Kings
  • Isaiah
  • Jeremiah
  • Ezekial
  • The Twelve (minor prophets) Trei-Assar

    The Eleven Books of the Writings (Kesuvim)

  • Psalms – Tehilim
  • Proverbs – Mishlei
  • Job – Iyov
  • Song of Songs – Shir HaShirim
  • Ruth – Rus
  • Lamentations – Eicha
  • Ecclesiastes – Koheles
  • Esther
  • Daniel – Doniel
  • Ezra/Nehemia
  • Chronicles – Divrei Hayamim