Select Page

Shemini Atzeret
& Simchat Torah

Rejoice in the Safety of His Shelter

What is Sukkot?

Sukkot begins on the 15th day of Tishrei and runs for seven days. It is a holiday of happiness, in part due to the celebration surrounding the harvest. The observances unique to this holiday are the following:

Taking the Four Species

Lulav – Palm Branch, Etrog – Citron Fruit, Haddasim – Myrtle Branches, Aravot – Willow Branches

Dwelling in the Sukka

Special booths that remind us of G-d’s protection.

What is Shemeni Atzeret & Simchat Torah?

Although Shemini Atzeres and Simchas Torah appear to be the eighth (and ninth day, in the Diaspora) of Sukkos, in actuality, they are a separate holiday, which demonstrates G-d’s love of the Jewish people, and the celebration of the Jewish people for the completion of the Torah.

Simchat Torah Dancing and Celebration

Learn About the Holiday

Sukkah Dwelling 101

Learn More

Building and living in a “Sukkah” is the observance that gives Sukkos its name, so here’s your brief guide to the where and how of building one, and avoiding the common pitfalls.

Lessons from Sukkot

Learn More

What lessons can be drawn from the services of Sukkos? What can we learn about the Jewish people and about humanity? 


Sukkos Perspectives

More Articles

A wide variety of perspectives into the depth and meaning of this monumental holiday.