Subscribe to a Weekly Series

<span>Spiritual Excellence</span>

Spiritual Excellence

By Rabbi Yaakov Feldman

This series is dedicated to the memory of Yitzchak Hehrsh ben Daniel z”l, and Sara Rivka bas Yaakov Dovid, z”l.

This series is geared to all, from beginners to advanced. The series will focus on a close and slow reading of several classical works of Mussar (Ethical Exhortation), including “The Gates of Repentance” (Shaarei Tshuvah), “The Duties of the Heart” (Chovos Halevovos), “The Path of the Just” (Mesillas Yesharim), and “The Eight Chapters” (Shmoneh Perakim). Spiritual Excellence will be conducted by Rabbi Yaakov Feldman, and will be based on his translations of and commentaries to these famous works. Participants will begin with the study of “The Gates of Repentance”.

For any comments, questions or topic requests, please contact Rabbi Yaakov Feldman.


Gate 1

A Biographical Sketch of Rabbi Yisroel Salanter

Rabbi Salanter's Innovations

Rabbi Salanter's Letters


Rambam's Introduction

Chapter One

Chapter Two

Chapter Three

Chapter Four

Chapter Five

Chapter Six

Chapter Seven

Chapter Eight

Gate 1

Gate 2

Gate 3

Gate 4


Gate One. "The Wholehearted Acceptance of the Oneness of G-d"

Gate Two: "Reflecting Upon Created Things

Gate Three: "Serving G-d"

Gate Four: "On Trusting G-d"

Gate Five: "Dedicating Our Actions to God"

Gate Six: "Surrendering to G-d"

Gate Seven: "The Gate of Teshuvah"

Gate Eight: "The Gate of Introspection"

Gate Nine: "The Gate of Abstinence"

Gate Ten: "Loving G-d Wholeheartedly"


Ramchal's Introduction

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Chapter 4

Chapter 5

Chapter 6

Chapter 7

Chapter 8

Chapter 9

Chapter 10

Chapter 11

Chapter 12

Chapter 13

Chapter 14

Chapter 15

Chapter 16

Chapter 17

Chapter 18

Chapter 19

Chapter 20

Chapter 21

Chapter 22

Chapter 23

Chapter 24

Chapter 25

Chapter 26