Select Page
By Rabbi Dr. Azriel Rosenfeld | Series: | Level:

Eating the kosher types of animals and birds is allowed only after they have been properly slaughtered; see Ch.3. It is forbidden to eat them if they die or are killed in any other way, or to eat parts of their bodies that are removed (see 14:6) or become detached (see 55:5) while they are still alive (62:1-4, and see next paragraph), but parts removed from them after slaughtering may be eaten as soon as they have died (27:1). Fish and locusts do not require slaughter (13:1;85:2) but they should not be eaten while they are still alive.

Anything edible (see 81:3-4;84:17;85:3) that is derived from a forbidden source is forbidden, but human milk (81:7) and bees’ honey (81:8-9) are permitted. The milk and eggs of a kosher species are permitted even though they come from a living creature (81:5;86:4). The milk and eggs of a TEREFAH (see Ch.4) are forbidden (81:1,6;86:3,10), but a living offspring of a TEREFAH is permitted (79:3; see 86:7). The oral Torah gives signs that distinguish the eggs of kosher and unkosher species (83:8;86:1-2); these signs are used when the parentage of the egg is not known. Birds’ eggs are forbidden if they have started to develop (66:7;86:8).

It is forbidden to take the eggs or non-flying chicks of a kosher bird if a kosher mother bird is just above them (see 292:1,7-9,11-13), but it is permissible to kill them (see 292:10) or to take them if the mother bird is first sent away in condition to fly (292:4-6). This prohibition does not apply if the birds are in a location easily accessible to the taker; see 292:2-3.

A kosher creature that eats only forbidden foods is forbidden (60:1). If it is sick or has eaten or absorbed a poisonous substance it is forbidden only if the substance is dangerous to humans (60:1-2). Indeed, any dangerous situation must be avoided (116:5; see also Ch.12). Substances that the sages considered to be dangerous included snake venom (116:1), meat and fish that were cooked together (116:2-3), and human sweat (116:4-5). It is also forbidden to eat disgusting foods and to eat with dirty hands or utensils (116:6). It is forbidden to regularly buy or sell foods that are Biblically forbidden even if deriving benefit from them is permitted; the only exception is CHELEV (117:1; see below). On procedures to follow if forbidden foods were accidentally or deliberately sold to a Jew see 119:13-15.

The blood of animals and birds is forbidden (66:1) even after they are slaughtered unless it remains absorbed in the meat (67:1-5). Procedures for removing the blood from meat are described in Ch.5. A “blood spot” found in a bird’s egg is rabbinically forbidden, and in some cases is an indication that the egg has started to develop (66:2-3,5,7). Fishes’ blood is forbidden only if it might be confused with animal or bird blood (66:9), and one’s own blood is permitted if it has not left the body (66:10). On mixtures and doubtful cases see 66:4,8.

The sciatic nerve (GID HA-NASHEH) is forbidden even after slaughter in animals and in birds that have round thigh sockets (65:5-7). On doubtful cases and trustworthiness see 65:11-14; on the extent of the nerve see 65:8-9. Certain parts of the fat (CHELEV) of cattle, sheep, and goats are forbidden even after slaughter; see 64:1-15. The oral Torah gives signs (involving the structure of the horns) that distinguish these animals (which are called BEHEMAH) from other kosher animals (CHAYAH) whose fat is permitted; these signs are used if the species is not known (80:1-6). Removal of these forbidden parts requires great skill and must be learned by observing an expert (64:7). It should be done within three days after slaughtering (64:18).

Shulchan Aruch, Copyright (c) 2000 ProjectGenesis, Inc.

Torah in Your Inbox

Torah in Your Inbox

Our Best Content, Delivered Weekly

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!